
ENFORCEMENT PERIOD MAY 24 – JUNE 6, 2010  
Start the habit. It only takes two seconds to buckle up.  Seat belt violators will be ticketed.  Save your money, save your life.

ENFORCEMENT
CDOT supports the Colorado State Patrol and 86 law enforcement 
agencies.  Extra officers will be on the road working overtime on traffic 
enforcement from May 24 through June 6.  Drivers who are stopped 
for a traffic violation and aren’t using seat belts will be ticketed.

The goal is simple: Get more Coloradans to buckle up, write fewer tickets 
and save more lives.

SAFETY
Seat belts save lives.  Wearing a seat belt cuts your chances of death 
or serious injury in half if you’re in a traffic crash.

175 people who weren’t buckled up lost their lives in traffic crashes in 
Colorado highways last year.  If everyone had buckled up, nearly half of 
the victims should have lived.

It takes 2 seconds to save a life.  “Click It or Ticket.”

Ejection can happen when you don’t wear a seat belt.  Last year, 71% of 
unbuckled victims were partially or totally ejected from the vehicle.

UNBUCKLED CRASHES COST
If 9-out-of-10 Coloradans wore a seat belt, an additional 32 lives could 
be saved each year, and $111 million could be saved annually.

The Click It or Ticket campaign is an investment and ultimately controls 
costs.  The dollars spent in advertising, an aggressive public awareness 
campaign and increased law enforcement contribute to the potential $111 
million savings our state faces when the numbers buckling up increase 
from 81% to 90%.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration gives funds to 
Colorado specifically for this program.  The funds cannot be used for 
anything else.

LOW USAGE/GREATEST RISK
Young males, pickup truck occupants, rural drivers and drivers at 
night are least likely to buckle up and are at greatest risk.

NIGHT

•	 Last year, 66% of the people killed on Colorado roadways at night were not 	
	 wearing seat belts, compared to 47% during the day.

“Click It or Ticket. Day and Night.”

MEN 

•	 Men – especially younger men ages 18-34 – are much less likely to buckle up.

•	 In Colorado last year, 6-out-of-10 of the unbuckled deaths were men.

•	 Nearly half of the men who died without seat belts were between 18 and 34 	
	 years old.

TEENS AND YOUNG ADULTS

•	 Last year, 40 teen drivers and passengers ages 15-20 died on 	
     Colorado highways.

•	 In 2009, 25 of teens killed in traffic crashes (63%) were not buckled up.

PICKUP TRUCKS

•	 Pickup trucks are twice as likely as cars to roll over in a crash.

•	 Last year in Colorado, 58 people died in pickup trucks and 79% were not 	
	 buckled up.

•	 Motorists can greatly increase the odds of surviving a rollover crash in a 	
	 pickup truck by wearing their seat belt.

•	 In Colorado, on 68% of those in pickup trucks use seat belts compared to 	
	 more than 84% in cars, vans and SUVs.

RURAL

•	 54% of deaths on Colorado roadways happen on rural roads.

•	 252 people died on rural Colorado roadways in 2009.

•	 More than half of the people who died on rural roadways were NOT 	
	 wearing a seat belt, compared to 36% in urban areas.

Young males, pickup truck occupants, rural drivers and drivers at night  
are least likely to buckle up and are at greatest risk.

Seat belt usage lower in pick up trucks

Seat belt usage lower in rural areas
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IT’S THE LAW
Adult Seat Belt Law

Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for drivers and front seat 
passengers. Drivers can be ticketed for violating the seat belt law if they are 
stopped for another traffic violation. Click It or Ticket enforcement focuses 	
on speeding and aggressive drivers. If they are stopped and unbuckled, they 
will get a ticket.

For more information visit www.SeatBeltsColorado.com.

Child Passenger Safety Law

The driver is responsible for buckling up and properly restraining young 
passengers in the front and back seats of the vehicle on every trip. The law is 
primary enforcement which means that drivers can be stopped and ticketed for 
violating the law. The law applies to children from birth through age 15. Drivers 
who do not properly restrain children will be ticketed.

For details about the law and information about child safety seats and seat 
belts, go to www.carseatscolorado.com or call 1-800-LUV TOTS 	
(1-800-588-8387). In the Denver metro area, call 303-239-4625.

Teens and the Law

The law is primary enforcement for teens under age 18 meaning the teen 
driver can be stopped and ticketed for a seat belt violation. Teen drivers have 
passenger restrictions outlined in the law. However, when teen drivers carry 
passengers as allowed, the law requires the driver and all passengers to buckle 
up. 

For more information regarding Colorado’s Graduated Drivers Licensing laws, 
visit www.coteendriver.com. 

Primary or Standard Enforcement Seat Belt Law

The Click It or Ticket campaign helps to save lives, however a standard law 
would help save even more. 

Law enforcement’s goal with Click It or Ticket is to enforce Colorado’s 
current laws to increase seat belt use and save lives.

CLICK IT OR TICKET SUCCESS

Since “Click It or Ticket” started in 2002:

• Seat belt usage has increased from 72% to 81%.

• There were 205 fewer unbuckled deaths in 2009 	
	 compared to 2002, representing a 54% decrease.

HISPANIC DRIVERS & PASSENGERS KILLED IN 2008
Last year in Colorado, 19% of unbuckled victims were Hispanic, 
52 Hispanic victims died and 63% were unbuckled.

• 79% of the unbuckled Hispanic drivers and passengers killed last year 	
	 were men.

• More than 75% of unbuckled victims were under age 35.

• One-third of unbuckled Hispanic victims were young people, age 

	 15 to 20.

AFRICAN-AMERICAN DRIVERS 
Last year in Colorado, 17 African-American drivers and 
passengers died and 7 were unbuckled.

• 6 of the 7 unbuckled victims were under age 35.

• 3 of the unbuckled victims were children.

OTHER ISSUES
RACIAL PROFILING

There have not been any complaints of racial profiling during 
Click It or Ticket campaigns.

Many law enforcement agencies have policies that encourage people who 
feel that they have been victims of racial profiling to lodge a complaint 
with the enforcement agency.

Click It or Ticket enforcement targets drivers with unbuckled children 
in the vehicle, aggressive driving behavior and speeding.

PERSONAL FREEDOM
Driving a motor vehicle is a privilege and not a right or 
“personal freedom” in Colorado.

When you don’t wear a seat belt and you injure yourself or others in a 
traffic crash, the public pays (in increased medical costs, insurance 
premiums and taxes for publically-funded medical care).  That makes it a 
public concern, not just a personal one.

Driving a motor vehicle is a privilege and not a right or “personal freedom” in Colorado.
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